Getting starting for my month in Thailand as a Work Study volunteer Thailand

Today I arrived at the Chiang Rai center. I was given the address of the center and a tuk tuk driver drove me there, stopping only once for directions along the way. Before I arrived I had a general idea of what to expect, but I was incredibly nervous to meet the staff. A work/study volunteer and two of the three directors greeted me. All three immediately showed me to my room and around the center’s grounds. They were friendly and helpful, and spoke enthusiastically of what plans they hoped to accomplish during their time here. This was exactly what I was hoping to encounter upon my arrival, and all of my nervousness seemed to disappear. In the afternoon I had my orientation with Jirasak which while lengthy gave me a chance to get to know him and learn a little more about what I would be doing here. I can’t wait to get started on my tasks here and get to know the kids!

–Ellen W.

Leave a Reply

