Volunteer life 3 by Ng Lye Ee, IHF Volunteer; Jakarta, Indonesia

Nothing excitable or exciting happened today. I was very motivated again (I think it’s my addiction for inexpensive, sweet biscuits here that is giving me the sugar rush) and finished most of my international tasks apart from fund raising by the time I taught at 5.

I think I really do like teaching children. I’ve always been scared to teach, afraid to make mistakes. But the more I do it, the more I find it a learning process. Learning about your students, gaining perspectives from them, etc. My classes were once again amazing. I taught them to write paragraphs today. It was difficult for them to string their thoughts together in English but my classes work so hard.  And after class, they stayed back to ask me for help with their work, asked me about my political views and many more. Sometimes I wish I knew more and could give them more.
After classes, we had a great get together session with the children at the home where we sung and played the guitar. It’s been 15 days and I have barely two weeks left. The thought of leaving them is just so sad. I really don’t know how I’d feel when I eventually leave this place.
Today’s going to be short entry because it will be boring to listen to other parts of my day.
Leave a Reply

