Volunteer life 4 by Ng Lye Ee, IHF Volunteer; Jakarta, Indonesia

It’s been a funny day. Rachel and I woke up all flustered and worried because we thought they were going to cut off our electricity from 10am to 4pm for some supposed construction around the area. And so we packed our bags and went to a nearby internet cafe to get some work done. When we came home, the electricity was still on! In fact, for the entire day, there was electricity. Part of me feel so cheated but I believe in what Rachel said, “It’s always when you are doing something really important that they decide to cut off your power supply.” So I was extra careful today and saved my documents every minute or two.

Of all the days since my computers broke down, I’ve been most motivated today. Even Rachel thinks I’m crazy! I was really worried that I couldn’t finish the tasks assigned to me because of my computers. I hate promising something and eventually backing out even if they are due to external reasons. It just makes me feel irresponsible. So it totally made my day when everything just went right.

It was also amazing as I received a mail from a friend! In the package was two amazing English textbooks that we can use as reference to teach the children. I’m really grateful to my friend and it just gave me one more reason to push on because I have so much support from my family and friends. Just simply amazing.

Teaching my beginner’s classes was wonderful as usual. I taught them compound and complex sentences (mainly with the words “because”, “since”, “unless” and “if”). Even though I know they do not fully understand me, I’m glad they try and I can see some improvement over the weeks. It was also kind of gratifying when some of my students asked if I could continue helping them with English after I leave. At least they trust me. I don’t know if I can really help them but I’d definitely try my best to share what little I know of English.

After class, it was mainly just working and chatting with Ade and Ayu. Rachel and I also decided to cook on Wednesday and Saturday as a special treat to children here! I’m getting excited just thinking about it.

It was a wonderful day and I’m sure there will be more wonderful days ahead of us:)

Leave a Reply

