The on-goings of Bali, Indonesia Part 6; By Rozalia, Work-Study Volunteer

One of the best things about traveling is the privilege of experiencing a foreign culture. Perhaps dance is one of the best ways one can do this, after all as Agnes De Mille has once said, “to dance is to be yourself. Larger , more beautiful, more powerful. This is power, It is glory on earth and it is yours for the taking.”

I love dance, and I knew that my stay in Indonesia would not be complete without experiencing the local folk dance. I liked Indonesian dance, it is very beautiful with colorful costumes, elaborate head dresses and intricate movements where even the position of fingers seems to have significant relevance.

I love to take a walk on the beach and talk to the locals after I am done teaching. Most of the people already know me, and are happy to see me. So last week when some of my friends found out that I am celebrating my birthday in Indonesia they invited me to their house for supper. The food was delicious, grilled tuna served on banana leafs, vegetables, rice, and fresh bananas. I tried to eat with my hands as the locals do, which was fun but a lot more challenging than it looks. I ended up having an amazing birthday with very good food and fantastic company.

Today is my last day at the Bali center. Although I am excited about going back to Korea, where I was teaching English for the past two years,  and than finally home to Canada, I am also sad. Volunteering in Indonesia was an amazing experience. I have learned a lot about myself, other volunteers, Indonesians, and I feel I have grown both professionally and personally. Teaching was also a blast, the children are amazing, some want to learn, and some need a bit of motivation, but overall they are just happy to come to the center and they brightened my days while here. I leave Indonesia with very fond memories, and I am already thinking about volunteering for IHF again in the future.

Leave a Reply

