5th December 2011, by Kate

My experience in Banda Aceh has been truly amazing, but I must admit that this was all due to the lovely locals I have met along the way. I feel that I have been blessed to have had such an immersive cultural Acehnese experience! From eating the local food, to chatting with locals to even learning some of the language!

The highlights of the trip include an early morning walk around a village. I met a nice local in the rice field and another local man who invited us into his traditional Acehnese home built over 150 years ago.We also hired bicycles and rode over an hour through beautiful villages to a beach, which was lots of fun!

My last day was spent driving around on a motorbike with another friend visiting the Tsunami museum, the ship on the land and visiting the harbour and drinking coffee. It was really a great trip.

I’m going to miss Banda Aceh and all the people who made it so special!

Leave a Reply

