14th July 2012, by Julia

For some of us life is somewhat simple, we live in a society that provides us easy access to education, health care and employment. But are we appreciative of all that we have? I doubt very much that many of us could answer that in the affirmative. We seem to have evolved to become very materialistic, never satisfied with what we already have at our disposal. Unfortunately life is not that easy for everyone, some children as young as 13/14 years of age have to work to help support their family. Subsequently, these children have to drop of school or are unable to continue on to high school as they cannot afford the school fees. To know that you are helping these children through providing them with a basic education is an amazing feeling. I believe that every child should be able to obtain an education without having to worry about the cost

My favourite thing about working at the centre is seeing the children playing with their friends, it is fantastic to see them smile and laugh. Every child should be able to spend their childhood in a carefree bubble without the burden of financial difficulties holding them back. Even if only for a few hours per week the IHF centre offers the children a safe haven where they can learn and be free from worry.

 We may not succeed in changing the world but whilst we try we’ll definitely succeed in making a difference to the lives of individuals. This is the first time I have volunteered abroad helping others but I know that it will not be my last.

My last day at the centre was very emotional, two of my students bought me a present (a skirt), a cake and wrote me a beautiful letter. The kindness of these students made me cry, I feel very lucky to have being able to teach all the children here, especially Suci and Nur. I will miss these bright and beautiful girls dearly but I hope that in the near future we’ll meet again.

In addition to saying goodbye to my students I also had to bid farewell to my centre family, as it is Ayu’s birthday soon we decided to go out for a meal.

I would like to thank everyone at the IHF centre in Jakarta for allowing me to volunteer here and making me feel like part of the family. It has been a truly wonderful experience that I will remember for the rest of my life and I hope to return to the Jakarta centre someday in the near future.

Leave a Reply

