13th August 2012, by Christin

It is a life changing experience

I arrived in Bali one week ago. When I’ ve had all my first impressions, I remember, I had a big smile in my face. Everything is so colourful, warm, noisy, appetizing smells are everywhere, it’s contrasting, the traffic is crazy, everything seems as if it is very chaotic and everybody looks so happy and genial. I love it.

The people are so friendly and helpful. All of them have a wonderful smile that makes you happy.The center is located between a Hindu village and a Muslim village.It is a beautiful scenery. The school is located in front of the beach, surrounded by palm trees.It is a lovely place. The majority of children are either Hindu or Muslim here. It’s great to see that their classes are held together and they learn very early to respect other religions. Before I arrive at the center, I knew it would be a special experience. I’ve only been here for just one week and I could write so much about culture, food and especially our children and classes.My mind was full of new impressions and new information.At my first day, I taught my first class together with Chloe and Fiona.

Honestly, I had no idea what would be the best way to teach and of course, I was a little bit nervous too.  But when you see the big eyes and the happy faces you forget all your thoughts. You realize that you learn from each other. The kids show you when they are bored, they don’t understand you, if they have fun and enjoy your lesson. And of course we have a lot of fun!

The children are so lovely and happy. They really want to learn English and are so interested in new words and topics. I teach different classes now.  The children in my senior class are between 16 and 18 years old. They told me that they like to get more job opportunities in the future and they are all really keen in learning new vocabularies and having conversations in English.

We have a lot of fun together. Often we create a little “theater” in our class. So, they have to act a scene in front of the class. It’s a lot of fun and they motivate each other to do the next scene. They learn from each other and laughing a lot.

I’ve never taught before. It’s a great experience and I really like it. It’s fun and I am so happy to see the kids improving their English and having a lot of fun and laughs.Every day we learn from each other and their smile is a wonderful present every day.

This month is Ramadan and on this Friday, 17th of August, Balinese Independence Day.

In school all children practice marching for the big parade. Here at the center, we have decided to have a special day with the children. We are going to play different games to celebrate the Independence Day with them.

I am really excited about the next weeks. I know it will be one of the best experience, I’ve ever had.

Leave a Reply

