10th September 2012, by Lianne

A very warm welcome to the IHF Kenya Centre. By Lianne Bettis

After months of excitment and anticipation I finally arrived at the Kenya IHF centre on Monday night at around 9pm. It was very dark so I couldn’t get a good look at my new home, but the welcome I received immediately made me feel like part of the family. The children ran over to me, hugged me and cheered ‘welcome home!!!’ I’ve never felt more welcomed. I then tried to take in their names and answer their many questions. I’m still struggling with their names, especially as many of the children come up with new names each time I ask them, but I’m slowly learning them, I think. A few days in I feel reassured that I’ve done the right thing in coming to Kenya, I know my time here will be a unique, memorable and rewarding adventure.

Leave a Reply

