Hello from Banda Aceh!

By Caroline Lukaszyk, Co-Director of IHF Aceh center

My name is Caroline and I am a new co-director for the IHF Aceh centre. Since arriving in Banda Aceh exactly one week ago, I have already had a lot of new and very unique experiences and have gotten a good introduction to the Acehnese culture and the work that IHF are doing in this community.

2013-05-22 08.15.14

2013-05-22 08.34.12As one of my many firsts of the week, I had the opportunity to teach a class of 30 students between the ages of 5 and 10 years English in Blang Krueng, a small village on the outskirts of Banda Aceh. As this was my first experience with teaching children of this age group who did not speak the same language as I do, it really was (as Made warned me) a ‘baptism by fire’ to teaching. Although challenging, I grea

2013-05-20 15.51.33

tly enjoyed taking the class and found it to be one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. The children appeared to really enjoy themselves and I left the village in high spirits while children stood on the street, waving me goodbye with the promise of returning to class again next week.

I am very happy to be based in the Aceh centre and am looking forward to many more new experiences.

Leave a Reply

