Experiences of a new IHF volunteer in Banda Aceh

By Ayu Rosalind Edi Esa

Wednesday, the 14th of August 2013, made me very happy. It was my first day of teaching the children in Krueng Blang (Aceh), and I had a lot of fun!

Rosa1I met students who were full of smiles and were determined to learn; looking for a glimmer of hope for a bright future. Initially, I was worried that I would not be a good enough teacher for them. However, it turns out that my fears were unfounded as the students happily followed, step by step, the lesson that I gave. Although I am new to teaching at IHF Aceh, I am very excited to keep teaching and sharing my knowledge with those in need of education. Smiles have a spirit of their own for me!

Today, we celebrated Indonesia’s independence by holding some races for children, ranging from cracker-eating races, to searching through flour for chocolate coins (without using hands!), and others. Rosa2Rosa4I got the impression that if we do everything with a true heart and sincerity, surely everything will be wonderful. If you asked me, why did I join IHF? My simple answer is: because IHF is a different blend!Rosa3

Leave a Reply

