Singing in the rain

I realise it is a very stereotypical thing to do but I’m going to talk about the weather this week. When as a redhead I told my friends and family that I would be travelling to sub Saharan Africa, without exception, they all mentioned sunscreen. I was expecting to have to cover my pale arms and head in for fear of being roasted alive, and during the middle of the day, that has been entirely my experience. However, Nakuru is an odd place in that despite being on the Equator, it is 1800m above sea level. This means that at night, temperatures plummet and long sleeves and hats become necessary for different reasons. Moreover, the Kenyan winter announced its presence this week with a bout of miserable weather. Having lived in Manchester for three years I am entirely used to non-stop icy drizzle, but to the children from the arid region of Pokot, the cold and rain is always quite a shock.

021

Thankfully in the morning we have hot tea and mandazis (like doughnuts) to warm us into the day. Despite the cold clearly being a shock to the system, the children are always cheered up by this tasty breakfast and always head out to school with grins on their faces. I’m happy to say that it also works for our new Directors Uriel and Ksenya.

027Richard, Co-Director, IHF Kenya

Leave a Reply

