Selamat siang, Bali!

By Sina, Work-Study Volunteer Bali

Thursday Night, I arrived at the IHF Center at East Bali and met the other three volunteers from the UK and China and Intan, my Co-ordinator –everyone is really nice and I am really lucky that I decided to come to IHF Bali to be a work-volunteer for the next 4 weeks! IMG_1216

At the next morning I got my “Arrival Training” which included showing me the IHF Center, which is a beautiful Balinese-style house at the Indian Ocean nearby a Muslim and a Hindu village with a big green garden with water fountains and 4 big classrooms plus a separate guesthouse for the volunteers. Afterwards I taught my first lesson in English and had the opportunity to learn my first Indonesian words from my Indonesian pupils: “Saya Sina! Umur saya 25.” Which means that my name is Sina and that I am 25 years old 🙂 It really was an amazing experience to meet the pupils and they are very open-minded, inquiring and love and I am excited to get to know them better!IMG_1229

At my free first free Sunday, I went with the other volunteers to the city Ubud at the middle of Bali to see Bali’s rich artistic and dance traditions and a typical Hindu ceremony at the temple of the sacred monkey forest. Ubud is really fascinating and there are so many different people from all around the world and I really like to come back for a couple of days after my stay at the IHF center.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200 On our way back to Buitan, we stopped at the mother temple “Besakih” and joined a Hindu ceremony and had the opportunity to meditate there and so I was able to get a feeling for the typical traditions and the Hindu way of life which is really great and I can’t wait to experience more of it.1

Leave a Reply

