Adoket takes a Selfie

by James D., Work-Study Volunteer, IHF Kenya

A few days ago, the rains came early and hard, forcing us all to stay inside at the center. I was in my room reading and enjoying the sounds of the storm when three girls came barreling through the door. They asked for paper and pkids kenyaencils and began quietly drawing.

After about 10 minutes, I heard an uproar of excitement. Adoket had managed to not only get my iphone, but unlock it as well. It was very strange because they had never seen my phone before, yet only enter the 4 digit code. I watched as they giggled and played with for a bit. They opened up itunes, and began playing randome songs, mostly classic rock.

They were not a fan of the Beatles or Lou Reed, but they loved the Rolling Stones. They began dancing around my room and being silly. After a bit, they put the phone down and went back to coloring. I inspected my phone to make sure they hadn’t done any damage, and went back to reading. A few minutes later, Adoket grabbed my phone again, and opened up the camera. She was amazed. She then turned the camera around, and took a selfie. For the next 10 minutes, she ran around the dorm in awe. I am still bewildered as to how she managed to unlock my phone twice, and smile every time I see that picture.

Adoket

Leave a Reply

