My last days at IHF Bali :(

by Kerri, Work-Study, IHF Bali

This is the beginning of week 4 for me. It’s crazy because it feels like I just got here, yet at the same time it is the start of my last week. I completely understand why and how volunteers can stay here for such long periods of time. It really takes the first month to get into the groove of things and feel like you have a good grasp on how everything works.

2014-08-22 14.47.18 (1)

Even though it may have been short, I am so grateful for my experience here. It has been eye opening, challenging, rewarding and above anything else, humbling. The kids are so special and to be part of potentially giving them future opportunities that they may not have had otherwise is extremely fulfilling.
It has also been a pleasure working with the other volunteers. I’ve been lucky that the group in Bali are such a wonderful bunch to get to know. It’s amazing how people from such different worlds can immediately bond over a common cause.
Last, but not least, I am going to take away a little piece of the Balinese culture with me. It’s been wonderful living within the community and getting to know some of the locals from the neighborhood. They are by far one of the warmest, friendliest groups of people whom I’ve ever met.
I don’t know if I’ll be ready to leave at the end of the week, but I know for sure that I will always be grateful for the time I spent here, as short as it may have been.
P1050494
Leave a Reply

