Get lost in Banda Aceh

by Catarina, Voluntourist, IHF Banda Aceh

It has been almost three weeks since I arrived in Banda Aceh. Now, I know the way home from town. It’s actually easy and I almost don’t understand how I could not find the way on my first night. You just go straight and at the end of the yellow and green wall, you turn left. Isn’t that easy? As it was dark that first night and there are no lights along the street, I took a becak–a motorbike sidecar taxi. Although IHF is only 10 minutes walking distance from the grocery store Suzuya, we went around and around for half an hour and at the end I just told the driver to let me off on the street. I called Timea to meet me, as I knew I was very close! There is an expression in Portugal that says, when you don’t know, you can’t  see. And I actually like this feeling. Get lost.

This very short and homemade video gives you an idea of my Banda Aceh lifestyle these past few weeks. It took me  hours and hours to make it and weeks to upload it, as the Internet connection is quite slow. So, even if it doesn’t exactly show the result I wanted, I do not have two more weeks to edit a new one! I hope you enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed living it.

Leave a Reply

