Welcome to IHF Chiang Rai

by Maimuna, Co-Director, IHF Chiang Rai

The children were in the  IMG_1318middle of their dinner when I arrived at the Thailand Centre, tired and dusty from the long, long trip.

Following hasty introductions and generous offers to join them, the children went back to their meal, glancing at me warily. I could hear them thinking:  “not another one!”

I woke up the next morning disoriented and homesick, to familiar sights and sounds; showers running, hurried breakfasts, uniforms being ironed, last minute homework and the all-important lunch money. In another place in another time many miles away, my teenage daughter in Zambia will be getting ready for school in a similar fashion; albeit with a lot more grumbling. I was at home.

At the end of a whirlwind week of introductions, chores, school pickups, online postings and a lively fundraising Peace Concert to raise funds for the Centre I was able to put a face to the names and got to know the children’s routines and habits. I was also able to say a few Thai phrases with a little help (and giggles) from the children. Every time I am stuck; whether it is switching on the stove, directions to the shop, where to buy talk time, talking to taxi drivers, I get by with a few handy hints from the children. IMG_1302

The children and I are gradually warming towards each other, and I look forward to many more exciting weeks at the Thailand Centre.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to IHF Chiang Rai

  1. Hello,
    I’m interested in volunteering at the IHF Chiang Rai centre, is it possible for me to speak to someone who has also done this? Just to hear about their experiences?
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

