How hard is saying goodbye to IHF…

by Timea, Co-Director, IHF Banda Aceh

When I decided to join IHF as a Co-director, I was in a strange place in my life. I did not really know what I wanted; all I knew was that I needed change. And I got it. In the best possible way. My time with IHF has completely changed my life and I could not be happier about it.

MR 2

MR 3

Managing an education center for children from poor family backgrounds in Banda Aceh, Sumatra is a challenging, sometimes exhausting and very demanding, yet a wonderfully rewarding job. The tasks are so varied; there is no point in even trying to describe them. They range from basic administrative tasks to supervising roof repairs and to teaching children. Which is the best part, really. Knowing that you actually make a difference by providing education to people who really need it and thus help them to have more chances in their future lives is the best feeling ever. They are keen on learning and so hungry for love. However, it is not only the children who learn from us. They teach us so many things about their culture, patience and respect for each other. And you realize that you need their love, too. At least I do and I’m glad they found me worthy of it. I believe this is exactly what IHF’s ‘Pass it on’ philosophy means.MR4
IHF gave me so much more than just a job. It was a very real exposure to a new world; I found true friends, learned a lot and gained so many new skills. I am sad to leave all this behind but I know that my fellow Co-directors will keep up the good work, they are all wonderful people. I hope we meet again soon!MR 1
PD: All of us will miss you Timea!  And we wish you the best in the future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

