An Spontaneous Experience in Bali!

by Luke, Voluntourist, IHF Bali

Started off as a simple 1 month trip to the beaches in southeast Asia, it turned out to be one of the most spontaneous and valuable experiences in my life.

My friends and I are planning on creating a nonprofit organization in education. And I happened to sit next to a wonderful incoming voluntourist for IHF. After getting tIMG_9829o know the program, I decided that I have to take out some time to visit the center and volunteer for 2 weeks.

Fast forward 1 week after I landed in Bali. After emailing back and forth with the directors, I’m finally extending my flight in order to volunteer at the Bali Center.

Nothing was expected, like life itself, the whole experience has been full with surprises so far. It seems like it was just yesterday that I was teaching my first class with Carlos. The kids were very excited and friendly to see a fresh face. The class ended with a “Call Me Maybe” sing along, and now they sing it everyday.

Teaching them directions is very hard, especially when you don’t know Bahasa. Having them getting used to the concept of “Next to” and “Across from”, using the desks as roads is a great way for them to understand it. With a combination of a map, I hope they understand most of it. I guess we will find out during a quiz this week.

Since it’s the last week for Barbara, she hosted a special project on Saturday to do croche from used plastic bags that she and the kids picked up from the beach. There were so many kids that showed up, and they were very engaged with the activities not to mention the candies and chocolate milk.IMG_0265

One more week to go, can’t believe that I’m already half way through. Let’s make the best of it.

Leave a Reply

