New Arrival at Chiang Rai!

By Cheryl , Co-Director
I arrived at the Chiang Rai center last week to an incredibly warm welcome from both the co-directors Laura and Ushmi and the children. It was wonderful to finally meet everyone and get settled into my new home. We all had lots of fun in the process – cooking, chatting and getting to know each other!

gkgkgkgEven though there is always so much to do and experience at the center, I already feel like I have learned so much. For example, the other morning I decided to make everyone banana smoothies for breakfast.  Very quickly I discovered that smoothies are not a very popular breakfast in Thailand… Whoops!

Luckily our lovely local volunteer Ari came to rescue that evening with an incredible Thai-banquet for us all to enjoy. It was absolutely delicious! All was forgiven.

Next week is exam week. All the ajajajajachildren have been working hard, especially Darid and Kantya, as they both have major projects to complete. Jira has also been extra-busy attending English competitions in Chiang Mai. She is the best English student in her class! And Chichi, her sister, has been taking extra English lessons with Ushmi. She seems set to follow in her sister’s footsteps. I am sure everyone will do fantastic considering how hard everyone has been studying.

shshshshsAlthough it has only been a couple of weeks, I am already looking forward to spending a year here in Thailand.
This is my first NGO-based experience. I am incredibly inspired by the people and the possibilities I have already met through my role as co-director, and am excited about those still might encounter. This will undoubtedly be one very special and unforgettable adventure!

2 thoughts on “New Arrival at Chiang Rai!

Leave a Reply

