Settling in to Nakuru

By Bruna, Work Study IHF NakuruIMG_3356

My name is Bruna. I’m 26 years old and I’m from Brazil.

I am in my second week at the center in Nakuru , Kenya . It seems the time goes very fast here!

Since I was a kid I always wanted to know Africa and its varied cultures. In the past years I felt an increasing willingness to help and work with children. My country has similar social differences as Kenya, but culturally we are very different and we have many more opportunities in Brazil.

During my first week, the biggest difficulty was to memorize the names as the children have names in their local language, which are very different
from what I am used to hearing. It was also quite hard to talk and play with the IMG_3350children as they are shy. In my second week I know the names of some the children and feel much closer to them. I enjoy talking to them about homework and exams that are coming up. Some of the children are attempting to teach me Kiswahili (it is very hard!).

Every day I learn more: how to feed and look after rabbits, the language and culture of this country and leadership skills watching Julie the director. I am very lucky to be part of this team here in Nakuru.

This week on my day off we visited Lake Naivasha, which is three hours from the center. Julie suggestedIMG_3489 a beautiful campsite to stay overnight called Fishermans Camp.  Rachel and I, another volunteer who is working here in the center, rented bikes and cycled to Hells Gate! It is an incredible place and I felt like we were in the movie The Lion King. On our trip we saw giraffes, zebras, wildebeest and many more animals.

To finish the week we had a party in the family room at the center! The children were very happy and even taught me a few dance moves! They are incredible dancers!

7 thoughts on “Settling in to Nakuru

Leave a Reply

