Medan Voluntourist: Last Days

By:  Carolina, Voluntourist MedanIMG-20160417-WA042_edit

I can’t believe this was my last week, and I only have one more day.  How am I going to survive without my kids?  Whether we want them to or not, there are always kids that leave a mark in our hearts and I will miss them so much!  Besides the kids, there are always the Co-Directors that are amazing and do everything to make us feel at home.  I loved this experience and definitely will come back and advise everyone to come here too.

So I’ll talk a little bit more about my week and less about my feelings (haha). This week was simple, I assisted SD 2 and Junior class.  All the kids wanted to learn and that spirit gave us motivation to teach.

IMG-20160425-WA001On the weekend I went to Bukit Lawang (Lawang Hill).  Bukit Lawang is a small village with a river called Bahorok, in North Sumatera.  We used simple public transportation to get us there for 2-3 hours more less. It has an amazing view.  We did a simple rafting trip (with 3 tubes bound together to be a small raft).  Bukit Lawang is also known for the animal sanctuary of Sumatran Orang Utan (the big Ape).  Since we just had one day, we only did the rafting.  I definitely recommend visiting this place.  A good way to spend the weekend, with a short trip!

Leave a Reply

