Four Days in Singapore

By:  Teresa, Co-Director Medan

Last week I was able to take my four-day break, and I went to Singapore!  One of our local volunteers, Jeni, came with me and we had a great time.  Buddha Tooth Relic TempleWe stayed at a little hotel in the center of Chinatown, next to some excellent Chinese restaurants.  We were also conveniently located near the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple, which is a Buddhist temple and museum, housing one of Buddha’s teeth.

Teresa & Jeni

 

 

Our big night out was dinner at the Sky on 57 restaurant, at the top of the Marina Bay Sands Hotel. We dressed in our best, and pretended like we belonged there, amongst the other wealthy customers (while stealthily trying to order only the cheapest items on the menu).  The view was amazing, and definitely worth it.  Nothing beats having a meal at 57 stories high!

Speaking of heights, we also took a ride on the Singapore Flyer, which is a giant Farris wheel.  It provided some beautiful views of the city.  I was surprised at how slowly it moved, creeping alongView of Singapore at night at 30 minutes per rotation.  It is quite dissimilar to the clunky Farris wheels from the county fairs back home! I also had the opportunity to satisfy my girly side, with some shopping at Bugis Village – a local-style market with lots of clothes, shoes, and jewelry.  I even found a great dress for only $4 USD!

I think my favorite activity was simply walking around the city at night.  For a person who normally doesn’t like cities, I was surprised to find Singapore very beautiful, especially at night.  The area we were in was very well laid-out for foot traffic, and exceptionally clean.  There were also many restaurants and shops, and it was very tourist-friendly. Since our time there was limited, there were still quite a few things that we did not get the chance to do, like visit Universal Studios.  I love roller coasters, so that just means that I will have to visit again!

Singapore

Leave a Reply

