Three Ways IHF Impacted My Life

By:  Nisa, Local Volunteer Aceh

Hi everyone!  First, let me introduce myself. My name is Nisa, and this year I finished the senior level with IHF.  I would like to share my experiences with IHF, both when I was a student and now as a teacher. I am happy to say that now I am a volunteer at IHF and I am teaching class with the children here. To me, they are my younger brothers and sisters at the center. Recently, I have been helping with art classes.  Mr. Sahat always supports me to organize special activities regularly.  I would like to share with you three things that have changed in my life since I joined with IHF.

Being a student at IHF has given me many opportunities to meet people from around the world.  They share their experiences with us and we exchange information about culture and language.  I love studying English here, and I can practice my skills with them.  They correct my mistakes when I am speaking.  These experiences have given me many unforgettable moments and I gained a lot of knowledge to improve my English skills.  I am very proud to say that the Aceh center is a good environment to study and find new friends.  So, if people write positive things about IHF with their own experiences, please believe it!  It is very true.

DSCN2178

This month is when I got the chance to teach art classes.  My first experience was teaching painting with SD5 students.  We made a beautiful painting using our fingertips.  I liked my class this time, we had fun together with painting.  During another class, we made crafts with flannel material.  That time, my class made goody bags.  I gave instructions how to sew the flannel step by step, and helped my students add more stickers on the surface of the bags.  At last, my class produced some wonderful goody bags with different models and colors.

DSCN2198

Being a volunteer is learning how to help others, using what we have.  Now, I realize that to help people through volunteering will give me valuable lessons in my life.  I see many unlucky people with less opportunities.  I found great volunteers at the center and all people in IHF have wonderful hearts and good souls to share knowledge without expecting something in return.  I have learned a lot from them.Felt 1

Thank you very much for giving me an opportunity to write about my experiences with IHF.  I will be happy to share with you again other events and activities at the center.  I hope you can join us and do volunteering at IHF.  Believe me that you will get unforgettable experiences when you decide to come to the center.  I hope you have wonderful days in your life.  See you later!

Felt 2

Leave a Reply

