Challenging and Beautiful Kenya

By: Song, Voluntourist Kenya

My name is Song, and I’m a volunteer from UNNC.  I came to Nakuru six days ago, and in these days I have learned that their living environment is very hard and I would like to try my best to help them.  The children here are smart and adorable and some of them work IMG_4901 (1)very hard in school.  They also play hard.  You can always find them playing soccer and competing against each other.  They love soccer very much and in fact, they are great players.

The first day I arrived here, I couldn’t believe that this was going to be the place that I would spend two weeks at.  I wasn’t very used to their meals.  However I have convinced myself to adapt to the environment and I won’t give up easily just yet.  This is my own choice and I should have mentally prepared myself better.  In the recent days, I have

IMG_5082

started to feel attached to the kids and we have had interesting conversations every day on the playground, during lunch time, or after dark.  When they are doing their homework, I also assist them with problems they are not sure about, like mathematics, English and physics.  Every evening, I prepare food ingredients for the next day with the other volunteers.  At night, I sometimes play movies for the children.  They are very excited about action movies.  I feel a sense of accomplishment when I see their lovely smiles and I always try to think of something fun to do with them.

This has been a very rewarding and meaningful experience for me.  It makes me realize to be grateful for what I have, and to grow from challenges. The experience I had here could never be obtained from a textbook.  I am glad that I made the decision to come to Kenya.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Leave a Reply

