Education is Life Changing

By:  Sylvia, Voluntourist Jakarta

You might ask what difference can you make in two weeks? As a voluntourist in the Jakarta IHF center, I have been trying my best to help the center. Basically I work for four hours each day, and the timing of the work is unrestricted for voluntourist to arrange their time. With a flexible schedule, I work more effectively.whatsapp-image-2016-09-03-at-13-26-11
My main mission has been to simply make them understand the importance of education. I believe in the short term, my impact on these children’s lives is temporary. Therefore, I hope to mainly focus on my mantra, that education is life changing.  As learning is a life long process, I have been promoting the importance of education in these children’s lives.
whatsapp-image-2016-09-03-at-13-26-08Besides work, I have a day off every Sunday. I spend my time travelling with my friends to local destinations. I’m glad to meet friends and experience the Indonesian culture!
This summer of 2016, I am having the best summer of my life. I have backpacked to many countries such as Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, China and Mexico. Jakarta, Indonesia is my last stop for this adventurous summer! I will always remember every journey taken and all the people I’ve met along these trips. I’m very grateful to be part of the team in such a short time. So what are you waiting for, get out of your comfort zone and be strong, smart & courageous!
whatsapp-image-2016-09-03-at-13-26-10
Leave a Reply

